President William Ruto Unveils The List of Newly Appointed Cabinet Secretaries.

H.E Dr. President William Ruto has unveiled the long-awaited list of Cabinet Secretaries who will be working in his government. During the same announcement, the President also unveiled the Prime Cabinet Secretary, Attorney General, and different Advisors.

The Prime Cabinet Secretary position went to one of the co-principle of Kenya Kwanza Alliance and the leader of ANC Party, Musalia Mudavadi. Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Justin Muturi was named as the new Attorney General. On the other hand, Monica Juma was also handed a new task in this government as she will now serve as the National Security Advisor.

During the campaign period, the President had promised a 50% women appointment into the Cabinet positions. However, from the named list only 33.3% of women were awarded the positions.

The newly appointed cabinet Secretaries will serve in different ministries. Of the 21 Cabinet Secretaries appointed, only one Cabinet Secretary from the former regime managed to retain his position but in a different docket. The new task force is expected to serve for a five-year tenure.

Popular ministers like Fred Matiangi, George Manghoha, and others haven’t been named in any government position meaning they’ll head back to private ventures. Below is the complete list of newly appointed Cabinet Secretaries and the Ministries they’ll be heading.

The List of Cabinet Secretaries

List of Cabinet Secretaries

  1. Prime Cabinet Secretary- Musalia Mudavi
  2. Interior Ministry — Prof Abraham Kindiki
  3. Defence – Aden Duale
  4. National Treasury – Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u
  5. Public Service Gender and Affirmative Action – Aisha Jumwa
  6. Water Sanitation – Alice Wahome
  7. Foreign and Diaspora Affairs – Alfred Mutua
  8. Trade, Investment, and Industry – Moses Kuria
  9. East Africa Community, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands and Regional Development – Rebecca Miano
  10. Roads, Transport and Public Works – Kipchumba Murkomen
  11. Environment and Forestry – Soipan Tuya
  12. Lands, Housing and Urban Development – Zachariah Mwangi Njeru
  13. Tourism, Wildlife, and Heritage – Peninah Malonza
  14. Agriculture and Livestock Development – Mithika Linturi
  15. Health – Susan Nakumicha Wafula
  16. Information, Communication and Digital Economy – Eliud Owalo
  17. Education – Ezekiel Machogu
  18. Energy and Petroleum – Davis Chirchir
  19. Youth Affairs Sports and Arts – Ababu Namwamba
  20. Cooperatives and MSME development – Simon Chelugui
  21. Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs – Salim Mvurya
  22. Labour and Social protection – Florence Bore

The President also assigned his Deputy with new roles as he had promised. According to him, the new DP will oversee the implementation of Cabinet decisions across all Ministries and State departments. Additionally, he will also chair cabinet committees along with other duties.