Updated List Of Principal Secretaries In Kenya

Here is an updated list of all principal secretaries of Kenya as of 2023, following President William Ruto’s reshuffle. A principal secretary is in charge of managing a governmental department. Kenya has 51 chief secretaries.

Below are the functions and responsibilities of a principal secretary.

Principal Secretaries’ Duties and Responsibilities

  • Implementing government programs and the State Department’s strategic plan.
  • Facilitating the attainment of the goals and objectives of government and inter-governmental initiatives and projects.
  • Creating and executing an efficient performance management system.
  • Ensure the State Department’s financial, human, and other resources are used efficiently and effectively. This includes the submission of regular required reports.
  • Promoting high levels of professional ethics in their respective departments’ activities.

READ List of Principal Secretaries Sworn in under President Ruto

Updated List of Principal Secretaries In Kenya

State Department  Principal Secretary
1.  Cabinet Affairs Idris Salim Dokota
2. Devolution Teresia Malokwe
3. Performance and Delivery Management Veronica Nduva
4. Parliamentary Affairs Aurelia Rono
5. Interior & National Administration Raymond Omollo
6. Correctional Services Salome Wairimu Muhia-Beacco
7. Citizen Services Julius Bitok
8. The National Treasury Chris Kiptoo
9. Economic Planning James Muhati
10. Defence Patrick Mariro
11. Foreign Affairs Korir Sing’oei
12. Diaspora Affairs Roseline Njogu
13. Public Service Amos Gathecha
14. Gender and Affirmative Action Anne Wang’ombe
15. Roads Joseph Mungai Mbugua
16. Transport Mohamed Dhagar
17. Lands and Physical Planning Nixon Korir
18. Housing and Urban Development Charles Hinga
19. Public Works Joel Arumoyang
20. Broadcasting and Telecommunications Edward Kisiangani
21. ICT and the Digital Economy John Kipchumba Tanui
22. Medical Services Harry Kimutai
23. Public Health and Professional Standards  Mary Muthoni
24. Basic Education Belio Kipsang
25. TVET Esther Thaara Muhoria
26. Higher Education and Research Beatrice Inyangala
27. Crops Development Paul Ronoh
28. Livestock Development Jonathan Mueke
29. Trade Alfred K’Ombundo
30. Investment Promotion Abubakar Hassan
31. Industry Juma Mukhwana
32. Cooperatives Patrick Kiburi Kilemi
33. MSMEs Development Susan Mangeni
34. Youth Affairs Ismail Madey
35. Sports and The Arts Peter Tum
36. Environment Festus Ngeno
37. Forestry Gitonga Mugambi
38. Tourism John Ololtuaa
39. Wildlife Sylvia Naseya Muhoro
40. Culture, the Arts and Heritage Ummy Mohammed Bashir
41. Water and Sanitation Julius Korir
42. Irrigation Ephantus Kimotho Kimani
43. Energy Alex Wachira
44. Petroleum Mohamed Liban
45. Labour and Skills Development Shadrack Mwadime
46. Social Protection and Senior Citizen Affairs Joseph Mugosi
47. East African Community Affairs Abdi Dubart
48. The ASALs and Regional development Harsama Kello
49. Mining Elijah Mwangi
50. Blue Economy and Fisheries Betsy Muthoni Njagi
51. Shipping and Maritime Affairs Geoffrey Kaituko

Principal Secretary Salary In Kenya

This position’s gross monthly remuneration is Ksh 765,188, plus various perks as determined by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

The remuneration is broken out below.

Principal Secretary Salary And Allowances
Basic Salary Ksh 459,113
House Allowance Ksh 150,000
Market Adjustment Ksh 156,075
Total Salary Per Month Ksh 765,188