Ten Kenyan Politicians Who Were Student Leaders

This is a list of Kenyan politicians who were student leaders on campus before transitioning into national politics. Many of them gained mileage by leading mega student strikes and demonstrations which made their name known countrywide.

They thereafter decided to use their hard-earned fame to try their bid into national politics.

Today we look at some of those popular politicians who were once at the helm of campus politicians.

Kenyan Politicians Who Were Student Leaders

1. Babu Owino

Paul Ongili Owino, also known as Babu Owino, is a Kenyan politician who represents the Embakasi East Constituency in the National Assembly.
He is a member of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

Babu Owino was the SONU student leader at the University of Nairobi.

As the chairperson of the Nairobi University Students Organization, he gained media attention (SONU).

2. Kipchumba Murkomen

Kipchumba Murkomen is the current CS for Transport in Kenya, a Kenyan litigator, and a former  Elgeyo-Marakwet County Senator. On a URP ticket, he was voted Senator for Elgeyo-Marakwet County in 2013, defeating the late Nicholas Biwott.

On a Jubilee ticket, he was easily re-elected in 2017, defeating former Inspector General of Police David Kimaiyo.

He has since switched allegiances to the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), which is led by Deputy President William Ruto.

When he was studying law at the University of Nairobi, he was elected chair of the Kenya Law School Students Society.

Read List of Kenyan Politicians to Watch in 2023

3. James Orengo

James Orengo is among the senior politicians who were student leaders during their days on campus. Aggrey, James Bob Orengo, the current governor for Siaya in Kenya, is a well-known human rights activist and prominent politician.

James Orengo was elected SONU chair while studying law at the University of Nairobi from 1972 to 1973.

4. Johnson Sakaja

Johnson Sakaja is a Kenyan politician and the governor of Nairobi County. He was previously the senator of Nairobi county and a Member of Parliament nominated by The National Alliance (TNA) in 2013.

He was the National Chairman of The National Alliance (TNA) until the party merged with 12 others to form the Jubilee Party on September 9, 2016.

He attended the University of Nairobi, where he served as vice chairman of the Actuarial Students Association before being elected chairman of SONU.

5. Justin Muturi

Justin Bedan Njoka Muturi is the current attorney general of Kenya. He has been the seventh Speaker of Kenya’s National Assembly since 2013. He is the first Speaker to take office since the re-establishment of a bicameral legislature, as required by the 2010 Constitution.