List of Public National Libraries in Kenya and Their Locations

In Kenya, all public libraries are normally under the control of the Kenya National Library Services (KNLS), an arm of government mandated by the law under Cap 225 of the Law of Kenya. In this article, we take a look at the list of public national libraries in Kenya and where they are located

The body was founded in April 1965 and it has been operational to date. At the moment one of the renowned National Library is located at Community-Upper Hill, Nairobi opposite NHF offices. Apart from this one, there are over 50 Public National Libraries located in different counties around the country.

List of Public National Libraries in Kenya

Public National Libraries in Kenya

Here we will highlight all the public national libraries based on their counties and specific locations.

Baringo County

Baringo has been allocated with three National Libraries located in different towns,

1. Kabarnet KNLS Library

Located, Along Nakuru-Iten Road.

Contact: 020 215 8364.


2. Meisori KNLS Library

Located, Marigat- Lake Baringo Road, a few Kilometres from Marigat town.


3. Eldama Ravine KNLS Library

Location: Eldama Ravine


Bomet County

Bomet County only has one public national,

4. Silibwet KNLS Library

Located Along Leiten- Bomet Road, Silibwet.

Contact: 020 215 8375.


Bungoma County

Kimilili KNLS Library

Located along Kitale-Bungoma Road, opposite Kimilili District Hospital.

Contact: 020 215 8370.


Elgeyo Marakwet County

6. Lagam KNLS Library

Located just Next to Lagam Catholic Church.

Contact: 020 215 8365.


Embu County

Embu KNLS Library

Located off Kenyatta Road, Embu Town.

Contact: 020 215 8384.


Garissa County

Garissa KNLS Library

Located, off Garissa-Dadaab Road, just opposite Administration Police.

Contact: 020 215 8387.


Mbalambala KNLS Librar