List of Nairobi County Elected MPs in 2022 Elections

This is a list of Nairobi County Elected MPs in the just concluded 2022 General Elections held on August 9, 2022, in Kenya.

The National Assembly is Kenya’s lower house of parliament. It was a unicameral house between 1966 and 2013. When the Senate was reestablished in 2013 following a constitutional change, it became the lower house while the senate became the upper house.

The national assembly has 349 seats, with 290 elected from constituencies, 47 elected from counties, and 12 nominated representatives. The Speaker of Kenya’s National Assembly serves as an ex officio member.

On the other hand, The Senate is made up of 67 members, 47 of who are directly elected by their counties, 16 women who are nominated by political parties based on their relative strength in Senate elections, two members who represent youth, and two members who represent people with disabilities.

The speaker of the Senate serves as an ex-official member while the deputy speaker may be selected among the members through a popular vote or by consensus.

In this article, however, we will highlight the members of parliament who were elected to represent the 17 constituencies of Nairobi City County in the just concluded 2022 general elections.

List of Nairobi County Elected MPs in 2022 General Elections

  • Starehe – Amos Mwago (Jubilee)
  • Kasarani – Captain Ronald Karauri (Independent)
  • Roysambu – Mwafrika Augustine Kamande (UDA)
  • Langáta – Phelix Odiwuor Jalang’o (ODM)
  • Westlands – Tim Wanyonyi (ODM)
  • Embakasi East – Paul Ongili Babu Owino (ODM)
  • Embakasi West – Mark Mwenje (Jubilee)
  • Embakasi South – Julius Mawathe (Wiper)
  • Embakasi Central – Banjamin Gathiru (UDA)
  • Embakasi North – James Gakuya (UDA)
  • Dagoretti North – Beatrice Elachi (ODM)
  • Dagoretti South – John Kiarie (UDA)
  • Kamukunji – Yusuf Hassan (Jubilee)
  • Kibra – Peter Orero (ODM)
  • Makadara – George Aladwa (ODM)
  • Mathare – Anthony Oluoch (ODM)
  • Ruaraka – Tom Kajwang’ (ODM)

Nairobi City County is one of Kenya’s 47 counties. It is coterminous with Nairobi City, Kenya’s capital and largest city, which is the third smallest yet most populous of the counties.