50 Big Names on the CAS Nomination List.

A significant number of popular Kenyans have appeared on CAS nomination list released by the public service commission.

On Friday February 16, the court dismissed a case filed by the Law Society of Kenya, which challenged the establishment of Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) positions in the public sector.

The Employment and Labour Relations Court’s Justice Monicah Mbaru ruled Thursday that the Public Service Commission’s (PSC) creation of the position is legal.

The judge dismissed LSK’s petition to declare the position illegal, noting that the commission followed the required legal procedure in its bid to establish the office, including steps such as inviting public input.

Following this suit, the public service commission published a list of 240 candidates nominated for the CAS positions on its official website and in the local dailies.

At least 50 well-known names appear on the PSC list of candidates seeking to fill a minimum of 25 Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) positions, which was published in newspapers on Tuesday, February 21.

The candidates will be interviewed at the Public Service Commission’s (PSC) offices on Harambee Avenue in Nairobi beginning March 1, 2023.

Members of the public are encouraged to send information about any of the selected applicants that will assist the Public Service Commission in arriving at a conclusion about their candidacy.

The submission deadline is February 28, 2023, and ought to be sent to hodrands@publicservice.go.ke.

Politicians, former principal secretaries, journalists, ambassadors, and CECs are among those shortlisted.

A Chief Administrative Secretary serves in the same capacity as an assistant minister and reports directly to the Cabinet Secretary of the said ministry.

50 popular candidates on the CAS nomination list.

  1. Agnes Odhiambo – Former Controller of Budget (2011-2019).
  2. Ahmed Ali Muktar – Former Wajir Deputy Governor, and Governor briefly.
  3. Ahmed Ibrahim Abass – Former Ijara MP and later Speaker of Garissa County Assembly.
  4. Alfred Indimulu Kahii – Machakos High School Chief Principal and chairperson of the Kenya Secondary Schools Heads Association.
  5. Ali Menza Mbogo – Former Kisauni Member of Parliament (2017-2022).
  6. Anania Mwaboza – Former Kisauni Member of Parliament (2003-2017).
  7. Anuar Loititip – Former Senator of Lamu County (2017-2022).
  8. Bishop Margaret Wanjiru – Former Starehe MP (2008-2013).
  9. Boniface Mutisya Musambi – Former KBC journalist; expressed interest in Kitui Central MP seat on UDA ticket in 2022 polls.
  10. Caleb Kositany – Former Soy MP (2017-2022).
  11. Catherine Waruguru – Former Laikipia Woman Representative (2017-2022).
  12. Charles Njagua Kanyi alias Jaguar – Former Starehe MP (2017-2022).
  13. Chris Wamalwa – Former Kiminini MP (2013-2022).
  14. Christopher Langat – Former Bomet Senator (2017-2022).
  15. Cleophas Malala – Former Kakamega Senator (2017-2022).
  16. Cornelly Serem – Former Aldai MP (2013-2022).
  17. Dennis Itumbi – Former State House Digital Strategist.
  18. Dennitah Ghati – Former Migori Woman Representative (2013-2017) and Nominated MP (2017-2022).
  19. Dr. Charles Malcom Lochodo – Former County Chief Health Officer, Turkana County.
  20. Eng. Nicholas Gumbo – Former Rarieda MP (2007-2017).
  21. Evans Odhiambo Kidero – Former Nairobi Governor (2013-2017).
  22. Fred Segor – Former Principal Secretary for Wildlife in President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration.
  23. Fredrick Outa – Former Kisumu Senator (2017-2022); prior to that, he had served as Nyando MP.
  24. Gideon Keter – Former Nominated MP (2017-2022).
  25. Adelina Mwau – Former Makueni County Deputy Governor (2013-2022).
  26. Isaac Mwaura – Former Nominated Senator (2017-2022).
  27. James Ongwae – Former Governor of Kisii County (2013-2022).
  28. Joash Maangi – Former Deputy Governor of Kisii County (2013-2022).
  29. John Mruttu – First Governor of Taita Taveta County (2013-2017).
  30. Julius Ouma Jwan – Former Principal Secretary for Basic Education in President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration.
  31. Khatib Mwashetani – Former Lunga Lunga MP (2013-2022).
  32. Lindah Ogutu – Former journalist and news anchor at Standard Group.
  33. Macdonald Mariga – Former Harambee Stars football player and Kibra parliamentary aspirant.
  34. Millicent Omanga – Former Nominated Senator (2017-2022).
  35. Mohamed Adan Mahat – Secretary-General of SUPKEM
  36. Mohammed Hussein Gabbow – Former Wajir North MP (2007-2013).
  37. Moses Lenolkulal – Former Samburu Governor (2013-2022).
  38. Mwanaisha Chidzuga – Former KTN and K24 journalist and news anchor.
  39. Kimani Ngunjiri – Former Bahati MP (2017-2022).
  40. Patrick Khaemba – Former Trans Nzoia Governor (2013-2022).
  41. Prof. Micheni Ntiba Japhet – Former CAS for State Law and Department of Justice
  42. Purity Wangui Ngirici – Former Kirinyaga Woman Representative (2017-2022).
  43. Rehema Jaldesa – Former Woman Representative of Isiolo County (2017-2022).
  44. Samuel Tunai – Former Governor of Narok County (2013-2022).
  45. Seneta Mary Yiane – Nominated Senator (2017-2022).
  46. Simon Ng’ang’a Mbugua – Former EALA MP and former Kamukunji MP.
  47. Thomas Letangule – Former Commissioner of the IEBC.
  48. Thomas Mwadeghu – Former Wundanyi MP.
  49. Wesley Korir – Former Cherangany MP (2013-2017).
  50. Wilson Sossion – Former Secretary-General of KNUT and Nominated MP.

Read also