List of Principal Secretaries Sworn in under President Ruto

Here is an updated list of all Kenyan principal secretaries as of 2022. A principal secretary is in charge of running a state department. In Kenya, there are 51 principal secretaries.

After taking over the reins of power, President William Ruto has been racing to constitute his cabinet, the executive in general, to officially begin his work.

After the successful nomination, vetting, and swearing of cabinet secretaries, the President went ahead to nominate principal secretaries who would be running various state departments.

The principal secretaries were later approved by parliament and sworn under the watch of President William Ruto on December 2, 2022, at State House.

This indeed indicates that his government is now fully formed and he can now start working on his agenda to deliver the numerous promises he made to Kenyans.

We have prepared a full list of principal secretaries alongside the state departments they have been assigned to run, but first, let us look at their duties and responsibilities.

Principal Secretaries’ Duties and Responsibilities in Kenya

  • Implementing government policies and the State Department’s Strategic Plan.
  • Assisting in the accomplishment of the goals and objectives of government and inter-government programs and projects
  • Creating and putting in place an effective performance management system.
  • Ensure the efficient and effective use of the State Department’s financial, human, and other resources. This includes submitting statutory reports on a regular basis.
  • Promoting high standards of professional ethics in their respective departments’ operations.

Read President William Ruto Unveils The List of Newly Appointed Cabinet Secretaries.

List of Principal Secretaries In Kenya 2022

1. Julius Korir – State Department for Cabinet Affairs

2. Teresia Mbaika Malokwe – State Department for Devolution

3. Esther Ngero – State Department for Performance and Delivery Management

4. Aurelia Rono – State Department for Parliamentary Affairs

5. Raymond Omollo – State Department for Interior and National Administration

6. Caroline Nyawira Murage – State Department for Correctional Services

7. Amb. Julius Bitok – State Department for Citizen Services

8. Dr. Chris Kiptoo – The National Treasury

9. James Muhati – State Department for Economic Planning

10. Patrick Mariro – Defence

11. Korir Sing’oei – State Department for Foreign Affairs

12. Roseline Njogu – State Department for Diaspora Affairs

13. Amos Gathecha – State Department for Public Service

14. Veronica Mueni Nduva – State Department for Gender and Affirmative Action

15. Joseph Mungai Mbugua – State Department for Roads

16. Mohamed Dhagar – State Department for Transport

17. Nixon Korir – State Department for Lands and Physical Planning

18. Charles Hinga – State Department for Housing and Urban Development

19. Joel Arumonyang – State Department for Public Works

20. Prof. Edward Kisiangani – State Department for Broadcasting and Telecommunications

21. Eng. John Kipchumba Tanui – ICT and Digital Economy

22. Eng. Peter Tum – State Department for Medical Services

23. Dr. Joseph Mburu – State Department for Health Standards and Professional Management

24. Dr. Belio Kipsang – State Department for Basic Education