Governors Supporting Raila Odinga’s 2022 Presidential Bid.

This article outlines Governors supporting Raila Odinga’s 2022 presidential bid.

Almost 30 Kenyan governors have declared support for the former prime minister Raila Odinga on his 2022 Presidential bid. Speaking at a conference held in Naivasha on Monday 17 January, the governors unanimously made a decision to support the ODM flag bearer, terming him as a long-time defender of devolution.

In a meeting that was held at a Naivasha hotel, the governors said that the country had received a massive boost in infrastructural and socio-economic development after the handshake between Raila and Uhuru. They described Raila as a peacemaker and the best leader suited to lead this country come 2022 general elections.


Governors supporting Raila


Read also List Of Counties in Kenya, Their Governors, Codes and Population 2021

A total of 25 governors attended the meeting while those who did not attend sent their acknowledgments for missing the meeting. Those who sent their apologies include Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), Alfred Mutua (Machakos), and John Lonyang’apuo of West Pokot. All other governors supporting Odinga were in full attendance.

Here is a full list of governors supporting Raila Odinga’s 2022 presidential bid.

  1. Ali Hassan Joho – Mombasa
  2. Amason Kingi- Kilifi
  3. Fahim Twaha – Lamu
  4. Dhado Godana- Tana River
  5. Granton Samboja- Taita Taveta
  6. Kivutha Kibwana- Makueni
  7. Charity Ngilu- Kitui
  8. Alfred Mutua- Machakos
  9. Lee Kinyanjui- Nakuru
  10. Francis Kimemia- Nyandarua
  11. James Nyoro- Kiambu
  12. Ndiritu Muriithi- Laikipia
  13. Kiraitu Murungi- Meru
  14. Martin Wambora- Embu
  15. Mohamed Kuti- Isiolo
  16. Ali Korane- Garissa
  17. Amos Nyaribi- Nyamira
  18. James Ongwae- Kisii
  19. Anyang Nyong’o- Kisumu
  20. Cyprian Awiti- Homa Bay
  21. Cornel Rasanga- Siaya
  22. Joseph Ole Lenku- Kajiado
  23. WycliffeWangamati- Bungoma
  24. Wycliffe Oparanya- Kakamega
  25. Wiolbur Otichillo- Vihiga
  26. John Lonyang’apuo- West Pokot
  27. Alex Tolgos- Elgeyo Marakwet
  28. Anne Kananu- Nairobi

Read also List of Top 10 Richest Politicians in Kenya and Their Net Worth

From the information above, it is clear that 28 governors have declared support for baba. This means he is only 2 shy to achieve the support of 30 governors, which means he is enjoying the support of many governors, unlike his main rival William Ruto. However, we cannot yet make a conclusion as it is too early for that.

Meanwhile, a few of the governors on the other hand who have declared support for William Ruto Include Kirinyaga governor Anne Waiguru and Stephen Sang of Nandi among others.

Few of the governors expected to back Raila Odinga are yet to make their decisions. They include Migori governor Okoth Obado, Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong, and Tharaka Nithi Governor Muthomi Njuki.

The governors supporting Raila were invited to a meeting in Naivasha by the former prime minister Raila Odinga who made his official declaration to vie for presidency in 2022 at Kasarani Stadium in Nairobi on 10 December 2021.